If you’re pulled over by a police officer after getting behind the wheel following a few drinks, you run the risk of getting arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol. However, depending on the circumstances of your arrest, you can receive a more serious charge and a heavier set of penalties.
Even if you have a spotless record, you can still be charged with an enhanced/felony DUI.
What Qualifies as a Felony DUI in South Carolina?
Having a Prior DUI Conviction
If you have been convicted of or plead guilty to driving under the influence in the past 10 years, a third DUI charge may be raised from a misdemeanor to an enhanced/felony charge depending on the details of your arrest. If you are charged with a fourth DUI in 10 years, your charge will be considered a felony.
Causing an Accident or Great Bodily Harm
If, while driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs, you get into an accident, causing serious harm, injury, or death to another person, the resulting charge can be a felony DUI.
Penalties for Felony DUI
If you are charged with a felony DUI in South Carolina, you can face:
A mandatory charge of up to $10,100 and up to 15 years in jail for causing great bodily harm.
A mandatory charge of up to $25,100 and up to 25 years in jail for causing a death.
Fighting Felony DUI in Columbia, SC
Just because you are charged with a felony DUI, it doesn’t mean that you must be convicted and face the serious penalties associated with it. The team at The Law Offices of Marion M. Moses, LLC can work to get your charges reduced and protect your life and livelihood. Contact us today to schedule a free case consultation.